Writer Pet Peeves.

Posted: November 14, 2016 in Uncategorized
Writer pet peeves.
pic-for-blog-1
We all have them, don’t we? Here’s a list of mine:
1. Pet peeves. No, I didn’t write this one in error. One of my biggest pet peeves is pet peeves, or an intolerance of different writing styles, genres, or methods of publishing. We’re all different and should respect one another’s processes.
But with that said, there are things that get under my skin, such as…
2. “Writers should stick with one genre.” I understand the theory behind this, and it’s actually a pretty good point. When you stick with a certain genre, you become a pro at it. You build your brand and grow your audience. You make yourself recognizable. But like most writers, I’m a reader first. And like most readers, I enjoy reading a little bit of everything. So, it should come as no surprise – I enjoy writing a little bit of everything too. So, I don’t like it when I have to identify myself as a specific genre writer.
3. Writers who don’t read. Scratch the word ‘writers’ and replace it with ‘people in general’. I love books and it causes me great pain when I hear someone say they don’t like to read.
4. E-books. I love them because my readers love them, and I sell more ebooks than paperbacks. I’m glad ebooks exist. But with that said, I don’t read ebooks (or very rarely). I’m a paperback addict and I don’t think that will ever change, unless they stop making paperback books.
I was tagged on this blog tour by Yusuf Toropov, an American novelist, nonfiction writer, and playwright. His novel JIHADI: A LOVE STORY, about a US intelligence agent accused of terrorism, is published by Orenda Books. Yusuf’s website is here
Leave a Reply

