#LifeBooksWriting Challenge: A Day in My Life.

Posted: June 4, 2016 in Uncategorized

pic of momThe topic this week for the blog challenge is “A Day in My Life”. This is tough for me because I’ve come to realize that my real job title in life is…professional juggler. I have three children, all different ages but each tough in their own way, and all with their own individual needs.

My kids are 13, 6, and 2. They are always my number one priority, but I try to divide my day up into five parts: taking care of them, cleaning my house, writing, promoting my books, and reading. I used to try to set aside whole blocks of time for writing or promoting during the day, but the kids make that hard for me. So, I’ve finally given into the chaos.

When I’m not busy with them during the day, I promote and clean and take care of their needs, and read when I need a break. Every free chance I get, I read. And I carry my book from room to room, and in the car with me when we leave.

I save most of my actual writing for the evening hours. As soon as the kids are asleep, I’m up writing for as many hours as I can stay awake. When I’m working on a book, I usually try to write no less than 1k and no more than 5k in a day. After I finish a book, I usually take a month off to clear my head before I start the next one. Sometimes writing gets put on the backburner when I have to review edits or do interviews or other stuff related to books.

Hopefully when all of my kids are in school, I can get on a regular schedule. But for now, they sort of run my schedule.

The weekends are more relaxing and sometimes I don’t get much writing done. My husband works for UPS and he’s gone for the most part during the week. On the weekends, I spend time with him and the kids, and we usual binge watch our favorite shows like Walking Dead and Game of Thrones, and eat junk food. We love to camp and do small things together as a family as often as possible.

Leave a Reply

