#LifeBooksWriting Blog Challenge: Marketing Tips for Writers.

Posted: May 21, 2016 in Uncategorized

The #LifeBooksWriting blog challenge topic this week is…Marketing Tips for Writers. Marketing is an area I’m still working on myself…but I do have a few suggestions for aspiring or new writers.

  1. Market to yourself first. Before you can sell a book idea to others, you must first sell it to yourself. Don’t write something because you think it’s marketable, or because it’s what you think you should write. Write the book that you want to read. Don’t write something you think your family/friends will approve of. Or make a book end a certain way to appease readers. Write for yourself and have fun. Because if you’re not “feeling” it, your readers probably won’t either.
  2. Social media is a must. We live in a virtual world now where readers want to interact with authors and keep up with what they’re doing. It’s important to interact with your fans regularly on at least one or two social media outlets. I prefer Facebook and Twitter. And I’m on there every day promoting the heck out of my books!
  3. Give your book away. Anyone who knows me, knows I give away a lot of books. I do giveaways for paperbacks and ebooks weekly, and I give free copies of my book to bloggers who are interested in reviewing. Sometimes, especially when you’re a new author, people want to try out your books risk-free. I’ve grown the majority of my fan base from giveaways or online interactions. Have You Seen This Girl (Flocksdale Files Book #1) is perma-free on Amazon, and I’ve pulled in a lot of readers that way.
  4. If you want to write books, then you need to read them – all the time. I spend way more time reading than writing. Reading improves vocab and stimulates creativity. I read a lot of books and I write reviews. It’s important to me to support other authors and continue to growing my own craft. Reading helps improving writing skills, and the better the skills…the better the books you’ll put out into the world.
  5. Make friends with authors, editors, agents, artists…everyone in the book world. Networking is important. I’ve met some of my greatest friends in the book world. Not only are they awesome company, but they are supportive. They help get me spots at conferences and offer amazing advice. They share my posts and console me when I get shitty reviews. They also read my books and help support me, as I do them. There’s no reason to do it alone – we are all in this together.
  6. Write as many books as you can. It’s important, especially as a new author, to get as many books out there as possible. While most people don’t mind waiting a year to check out Stephen King’s next book…most readers will lose interest fast if you’re not providing them more content and keeping them happy. As an avid reader myself, I know how easy it is to lose interest in an author or series, so I try to see it from a reader’s perspective and get as much out there, with as little delays as possible.
  7. Invest in great teasers, trailers, and promos. If I see an awesome cover or teaser, I stop scrolling and I one-click, so I’m guessing a lot of other readers do the same thing. A visually appealing book or post is important because it needs to catch people’s eye so they will stop and check out your book.

I’ll be honest, I’m still learning all of this myself so I’d love to hear other authors’ marketing advice! ❤

Leave a Reply

