Must Read Monday: Ellie Midwood

Posted: February 29, 2016 in Uncategorized

Happy Leap Day! To celebrate, I’d like to leap back in time. Around one year ago today, I read a book by a brand new author to me. Her name was Ellie Midwood. I loved her book, The New York Doll. Since reading it, I’ve read and reviewed four more of her books, all worthy of five stars! So, for Must Read Monday and the holiday, I’d like to show you Ellie’s books and my reviews for each. I didn’t realize until now, but almost all my reviews started with the word “wow” LOL. I don’t think that’s a coincidence, peeps! Her books are superb and she’s a perfect example of why reading new authors is awesome…

image1 (25)

Wow! This story is provocative, brutally honest, and compelling! I was drawn into her world and couldn’t stop reading! This is the true story of a 25-year-old immigrant from Russia who comes to New York with big dreams, high hopes, and a fierce love for America. I loved her perspective on what it was like to come to this country; it was amazing to see it through her eyes! This story is not all rainbows and sunshine however…She struggles financially and finds herself lured into the sometimes glamorous world of exotic dancing. This is where the story gets REALLY interesting, because the writer bares her soul…confiding the true behind-the-scenes story of her dancing career. She struggles with heartbreak, depression, toxic family relationships, and even a natural disaster. But through it all, she is a survivor and does whatever it takes to gain her own financial and emotional independence. I recommend this story. It’s got grit, but there’s so much heart in it too, and once you start reading you won’t want to stop!

image2 (10)This is the second book I’ve read by Ellie Midwood. What I love most about her stories is the way she tells them. I don’t know how she does it exactly, but I always feel like she’s sitting beside me sharing her deepest darkest secrets and wildest tales. I feel like I’m watching the story unfold, like I’m standing close enough to reach out and touch it’s characters and hear their thoughts. Like the New York Doll, the Brooklyn Boys Club is gritty but funny, genuine but brutally honest. It is the life story of Renzo, an Italian gangster involved in organized crime. Parts of the story are shocking and heinous, but somehow Ellie allows us to see the human side, the reality of being born into a life of crime. Instead of being the character you love to hate, he’s the guy you hate to admit you love. Ms. Midwood has a talent for seeking beauty in the ugliest of situations, and giving us a glimpse into lifestyles so far from the norm. Superb job! Can’t wait to see what comes next!!!

image3 (6)First of all, I’m a huge fan of Ellie Midwood’s. I loved The New York Doll and The Brooklyn Boys Club, so I’d been dying to get my hands on this one! And WOW, it didn’t disappoint. All of Ellie’s stories are different, but each one is so character-driven. I always feel so attached to her characters, like they’re sharing their story with me, and only me. This is a beautifully written story that’s a historical romance, but also an action-packed thriller of sorts. It’s basically the story of a sweet Jewish girl and a military officer who band together to stand against the Nazi regime, all the while falling deeper in love. Annalise has to play a game of sorts, getting close to one of the Austrian leaders who is known to be dangerous. Only he doesn’t seem as bad as Annalise expected…I don’t want to give spoilers, so I’ll stop there. The writing is superb. Ellie is quite the wordsmith, although she never loses her down-to-earth, easy-to-read style. Her characters are richly developed and the plot flows smoothly throughout. There are so many interesting themes throughout- the importance of standing up to evil, even when it’s dangerous or unpopular. And it’s a gorgeous story about love, and finding light even in the darkest of people and situations. Kudos to the author! She will blow her readers away with this one!

image4 (4)

Wow! Okay, I loved the first installment of The Girl from Berlin so my expectations with this one were high. Very high. And as expected, Ms. Midwood raised the bar even higher!
This is an intense thriller. It’s edgy, sexy, and suspenseful throughout. Downright shocking at times.
It picks up where the first book left off, with the main character Annalise. She’s married to Heinrich, but she faces a tough choice. Stay faithful and get convicted of being a war criminal, or have an affair with a terrifying man to get the info she needs to ensure her freedom. The author does an amazing job of setting the scene and creating believable characters the reader wants to invest in.
Parts of it were so intense, I found myself literally sitting on the edge of my seat, flipping as fast as I could to learn the outcome. The plot is well paced, tension building throughout until you reach the explosive conclusion.
I still haven’t figured out how she does it, but Ms. Midwood’s writing is so character-driven. Every time I read one of her books, I feel like I’m best friends with the main character and I know what they’re thinking, feeling.
I loved it. One of the sexiest thrillers I’ve read in years!!! I highly recommend it, to men and women alike. I’m anxiously waiting for the next book!!!

image5 (3)Wow! This is a series you don’t want to miss. Book three picks up where book two left off and this appears to be the final conclusion to the series.

Just like books one and two, the story was fast paced, edgy, and highly emotive. Annalise is still involved in a love triangle with her husband and lover, the second of which is considered a war criminal for his role in the Nazi regime.

Midwood’s writing is superb, with characters–good and bad–that you just can’t help feeling invested in. Her ability to make the readers feel and understand her characters, even ones we might not want to, is absolutely brilliant.

This one is a real nail-biter, and I was unsure till the very end how the author would finish. A brilliant ending, an unforgettable series, and characters I just wasn’t ready to let go of! This book and the others in the series are full of so much history, suspense, romance, and action they left my head spinning! Ms. Midwood is such a talented author, and she’s definitely one of my favorite authors!

Comments
  1. piratepatty says:

    TBR! If you love them I’m sure I will too! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

