The Flocksdale Files series and The Soundtrack That Lives In My Head.

Posted: December 9, 2015 in Uncategorized

In the spirit of Jim Morrison’s birthday, it’s only fitting that I talk a little bit about the music that influenced the Flocksdale Files. I know I’ve talked about this before, but for those of you who don’t know, the original manuscript of Have You Seen This Girl? was actually titled “The End” and it was riddled with Jim Morrison lyrics.

Because of copyright issues and all that jazz, I had to take the lyrics out. But here’s a little bit of the story behind it…

I LOVE the song, but that hasn’t always been the case…the truth is, its lyrics give me the chills and I associate the song with a stressful time in my life.

I always use music to “get me in the mood” for writing, but when I sat down to start a new book a couple years ago, “The End” started playing on the radio. Instantly, I had cold chills. But instead of turning it off, I just started writing.

image5

I broke down the lyrics of that song and headed each chapter with a couple lines from the song. I tried to coordinate certain sections of the book to correspond with the lyrics. It sounds like I wrote the book in a day, but in all actuality, I rewrote it nearly ten times over a period of two years. It is, by far, the most difficult book I’ve had to write.

And…as anyone who’s read the Flocksdale Files books knows, “The End” by The Doors is mentioned multiple times in Have You Seen This Girl? and even once or twice in House of the Lost Girls. Carnival of Dead Girls isn’t out yet, but I can go ahead and tell you guys that it also references the song by Morrison.

I’ve been working on a Flocksdale Files playlist for a while now, songs that inspired me while writing it, or were mentioned in the books, and here it is! What better day than today–on Jim Morrison’s birthday–to share it?

Flocksdale Files series – The Soundtrack That Lives In My Head:

image1 (1)

  1. Tear You Apart by She Wants Revenge
  2. The End by The Doors
  3. Dope Show by Marilyn Manson
  4. I Don’t Like the Drugs (But the Drugs like Me) by Marilyn Manson
  5. Under the Moon by Insane Clown Posse
  6. Breathe Me by Sia
  7. Boulevard of Broken Dreams by Green Day
  8. David by Noah Gundersen
  9. Doll Parts by Hole
  10. Meds by Placebo
  11. Funhouse by Pink
  12. Into Dust  by Mazzy Star
  13. Orange Sky by Alexi Murdoch
  14. I Lived by One Republic

 

image6 (1)

 

 

 

Comments
  1. piratepatty says:

    Very interesting! Some of my faves on that list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

